Shannon Slaughter - Never Standing Still
  • That Old County Road
  • You Can't Outrun the River
  • Find Your Own Highway
  • Old Kentucky Home
  • Love Is a Cross and Three Nails
  • The Girl I Love
  • Going Home
  • Lonely Trail of Tears
  • Better Move It On Home
  • He Moved a Mountain
  • Dying to Live Again
  • I Was a Farmer
  • Trying to Be My Own Man
  • Movin' On
“That Old County Road” was written by Shannon Slaughter and Rusty Hendrix (guitar player from the country band Confederate Railroad) and takes a nostalgic look at growing up in the country and what young people did back then, with maybe a nod to the present as well. The new single is available to radio programmers at AirPlayDirect.

Never Standing Still is the fourth project and second solo effort from the award-winning Shannon Slaughter releasing on Elite Circuit Records on November 15, 2017. Slaughter, a Chris Austin Songwriting Contest Award Winner, contributed 10 original songs written or co-written with industry luminaries such as: Ronnie Bowman, Tim Stafford, Mark "Brink" Brinkman, Dale Felts, Terry Foust and Marla Cannon-Goodman, along with songs by Jake Landers and Roger Rasnake. The well-respected talents of numerous musicians and singers are also showcased on this recording with the talents of: Heather Slaughter, Lou Reid, Shawn Lane, Randy Kohrs, Ron Stewart, Steve Gulley, Ron Inscore, Trevor Watson, Cliff Bailey, Tim Crouch, Doug Jernigan, Josh Shilling, and Tracy Burcham.

More about Shannon Slaughter:
Slaughter is a proud alumnus of numerous leading bluegrass bands counting membership in The Lost & Found, Larry Stephenson Band, Melonie Cannon, Lonesome River Band, Lou Reid & Carolina, and Grasstowne. These bands and bandleaders helped shape the foundation of his band County Clare which he formed in 2010. "Being around leaders like Allen, Dempsey, Larry, Sammy, Lou, and Alan really helped me understand the business side of the music all the while forming the basis for what I would call my sound. They have really been invaluable to my development as a musician and bandleader," said Slaughter. “I am really proud of the unique sound of County Clare that we have created over the last 7 years.”
In 2012, Slaughter was the 1st Place Winner in the Country division of MerleFest’s Chris Austin Songwriting Contest for his original song, “I’ve Hit Everything In My Life (But My Knees)“ co-written by Dale Felts and Mark Byrd. He has written songs for Blue Highway, Lonesome River Band, IIIrd Tyme Out, Lou Reid, Mike Bentley, Larry Stephenson, and more. In March 2013, Shannon & Heather Slaughter and County Clare release the album One More Road that included 3 radio chart hits including their killer cover of “If I Were A Carpenter.” Shannon & Heather’s follow-up album Never Just A Song, released in February 2015, included their #1 chart radio hit “That’s What’s Good In America Today” co-written by Shannon as well as other chart songs such as “Moonshiner,” “There Ain’t No Need To Be Lonely,” and “Ridin’ The Lightning, Ropin the Storm.”
  • Members:
    Shannon Slaughter
  • Sounds Like:
    Shannon Slaughter
  • Influences:
    Merle Haggard / Tony Rice / Keith Whitley / Tim Stafford / Harley Allen
  • AirPlay Direct Member Since:
  • Profile Last Updated:
    08/14/23 13:03:09

"Radio Creds" are votes awarded to artists by radio programmers who have downloaded their music and have been impressed with the artist's professionalism and the audience's response to the new music. Creds help artists advance through the AirPlay Direct community.

Only radio accounts may add a Radio Cred. One week after the track has been downloaded the radio account member will receive an email requesting a Cred for each artist they've downloaded.