Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt - Rebuild
  • Rebuild
Michael G. Ronstadt, nephew of Queen of Rock Linda Ronstadt and a member of a family with a rich musical heritage, holds a master’s degree in cello performance from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. Aaron Nathans is an award-winning songwriter and a leader in Philadelphia’s community of songwriters.

Their new single "Rebuild," is a ballad, a metaphor song that compares the biblical story of Chanukah to our current world in which we need to rebuild after a period of fighting. It is not outwardly political. It does, however, reflect the current exhaustion we all feel.

“Rebuild” does not appear on Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt’s new critically acclaimed album "Shadow of the Cyclone," which was released October 1, 2020.

Cello-based songwriters are rare, and the alt-folk duo of Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt take advantage of Ronstadt’s adventurous and wildly creative technique to face our shared disaster, head-on.

Philadelphia based guitarist /songwriter Aaron Nathans and Cincinnati cellist / songwriter Michael G. Ronstadt released their third critically acclaimed album, the rich, dark and foreboding Shadow of the Cyclone, October 1, 2020 to rave reviews world wide and earned #7 Top Album FAI Folk DJ for October. The album continues to shine on the RMR, and Radio Guitar One Charts earning Top 10 placement and above, over several weeks following release.

With sobering clarity, the duo weave intricate metaphors in the form of fallen saviors (“Strongman”), a Leonard Cohen-esque embrace of the anti-hero (“I Go Low”), and straightforward accounts of our loss of empathy (“Sinner’s Bible”). These songs hint at a sense of just retribution for the troubles we’ve brought upon ourselves, while “Haunted House” and “Come on Sun” coax a sense of levity and hope while accepting our brutal present.

As an acoustic duo, the two create a compelling musical palate. Ronstadt’s cello lines are reminiscent of the live-layered magic of Zoe Keating, and his songwriting reflects the creative diversity of Paul Simon. He weaves intricate patterns around Nathans’ baritone voice, studied folk meters and dash of irony in the tradition of David Wilcox and Dar Williams. As multi-instrumentalists, the two play a total of 33 distinct instruments between them while Serenity Fisher guests on piano and vocals, Stan Ginn on drums, Phil Henry on backing vocals and percussion, and Ciara Grace on backing vocals.

“Shadow of the Cyclone” brings in fans of folk, Americana and singer-songwriters who are seeking refuge from the storm that 2020 has unleashed on us.
  • Members:
    Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt
  • Sounds Like:
    Peter Mulvey, David Wilcox
  • Influences:
    David Wilcox, Zoe Keating, Craig Bickhardt, Paul Simon
  • AirPlay Direct Member Since:
  • Profile Last Updated:
    08/15/23 13:02:18

"Radio Creds" are votes awarded to artists by radio programmers who have downloaded their music and have been impressed with the artist's professionalism and the audience's response to the new music. Creds help artists advance through the AirPlay Direct community.

Only radio accounts may add a Radio Cred. One week after the track has been downloaded the radio account member will receive an email requesting a Cred for each artist they've downloaded.