Ashanti Munir Soul of a Woman
  • Easy Way About U
  • So Smooth
  • I'm Staying Home Tonight
Boston's very own Ashanti Munir is someone that we've all had our eyes on since the release in 2008 of her critically acclaimed "Balance" album, an album that opened the door to the heart of a special, deep and soulful Lady. A genuine soul, open and honest, "Balance" was very much an open book, a heart on sleeve effort that told a story of development and struggle. It was, by any standard a strong foundation set for any recording artist fighting on their own or with major backing. It's with pleasure that 2010 sees the release of the sophomore release, "Soul of a Woman". It's from the strong foundation of her first set of recordings that this album builds from, and built strong it is too. I can see much more in the way of plaudits coming her way thanks to her work here. Ashanti's live performance at the exclusive Soulchoonz party back in August 2008 had no one in doubt that what we had here, live, in front of us was a REAL talent who was certainly no one-trip pony. There was, as far as I could see, a great future ahead and this CD delivers that and promises more!

On the popular wave of her "I'm Staying Home Tonight" we have a similar soon-to-be popular tune "Easy Way About You" which features some great, great sax - this will keep a smile on the face of “Super Gary Spence” quite right too. I absolutely melted with delight when I heard track two, "So Smooth", a cut that would neither be out of place on an MCA album circa 1986 or the latest sets from James Reeno or Cool Million. The 80s are back, baby and this Controllers-type groove paired with some great sax ticks every conceivable box for the likes of this old hack. The funky "Ooh" with its freaky keys and brass touches is another strong, strong effort that allows Ashanti to get low-down, dirty and downright sassy. This is a dirty slab of a tune and should go down very well indeed! The strong, positive messages contained in "Don't Be Afraid" are solid stuff indeed. What we have here is a strong voice of experience and someone who knows what she is singing about through real and bitter experience. For Ashanti, the term 'no pain, no gain' would mean a lot and she has condensed all her experience into one hell of a directional and highly positive message. Also, musically it is SUPERB and definitely one of the album's true joys!

The elegance of "It Should Be You" also cannot be understated. The feeling here is of a classy Jam and Lewis effort with, say, Janet Jackson back in the mid 80s. Such a beautiful, quality song! This does Ashanti much credit. The title song, Soul of a Woman, too will be one to savor and oozes class and wipes the floor with all of today's whining R&B girlies showing that modern US R&B doesn't have to be crass. Fans of Lalah Hathaway's latest sets will weep with pleasure over the gorgeously acoustic "Sometimes Love". This song brought tears to my eyes and goose bumps to my flesh. Only an artist of GREAT caliber can reduce me to this kind of state, and this Lady has that knack. The final song, "Underestimation", is totally, totally essential and is of such a quality you would imagine that it had been lifted from a Marion Meadows or Najee album. This album is a very, very qualified success for a new artist such as Ashanti. To return with a follow-up set is a bonus in these dark times, but to raise the bar and do so with such force, finesse and real confidence is a joy to behold. Ashanti Munir deserves to be one of THE defining soul artists of the 21st Century. An incredibly essential album!

Barry Towler
“The Vibe Scribe”
  • Members:
    Ashanti Munir & featured artists
  • Sounds Like:
    Lalah Hathaway, Evelyn Champagne King and Gladys Knight
  • Influences:
    Gladys Knight, Whitney Houston, Regina Belle and Maysa Leak
  • AirPlay Direct Member Since:
  • Profile Last Updated:
    08/15/23 21:49:18

"Radio Creds" are votes awarded to artists by radio programmers who have downloaded their music and have been impressed with the artist's professionalism and the audience's response to the new music. Creds help artists advance through the AirPlay Direct community.

Only radio accounts may add a Radio Cred. One week after the track has been downloaded the radio account member will receive an email requesting a Cred for each artist they've downloaded.