Woody Platt - Broke Down Engine
  • Broke Down Engine (feat. Del McCoury)
  • Broke Down Engine (feat. Del McCoury)
    Genre: Bluegrass
    MP3 (02:38) [6.03 MB]
Co-founder and former lead singer/frontman/guitarist with the Grammy-Award winning Steep Canyon Rangers, and musical collaborator with comedian/actor/banjoist Steve Martin, Woody Platt is an artist who has helped to define the trajectory of bluegrass music in the 21st century. Platt’s first music for Compass Records since stepping away from the Rangers (and the first track released off his to-be-named 2024 solo album), is a collaboration with Del McCoury - a bluesy, grooving take on the Blind Willie McTell classic, “Broke Down Engine.”

The collaboration is a dream come true for Platt and was years in the making. Platt was still in college when he traveled across the country to a bluegrass festival in Colorado to see Del McCoury. Many years later, with Steep Canyon Rangers, he had the opportunity to share the stage with his hero at the iconic Ryman Auditorium. Platt says: “What an honor to record 'Broke Down Engine' with a legend like Del McCoury. This ride has literally taken me from the ground floor to dream come true.” 

The new single features McCoury and Platt sharing lead vocals, accompanied by a top-flight band that includes Bryan Sutton (guitar), Barry Bales (bass), Daren Shumaker (mandolin), and Bennett Sullivan (banjo).  The new album is slated for a spring 2024 release.
  • Members:
  • Sounds Like:
    Steep Canyon Rangers, Shannon Whitworth, Buddy Melton, Milan Miller
  • Influences:
    Del McCoury
  • AirPlay Direct Member Since:
  • Profile Last Updated:
    02/17/24 19:20:52

"Radio Creds" are votes awarded to artists by radio programmers who have downloaded their music and have been impressed with the artist's professionalism and the audience's response to the new music. Creds help artists advance through the AirPlay Direct community.

Only radio accounts may add a Radio Cred. One week after the track has been downloaded the radio account member will receive an email requesting a Cred for each artist they've downloaded.