J.D. Crowe & The New South - "Cryin' Holy" (prev. unreleased)
J.D. Crowe & The New South - "Cryin' Holy" (prev. unreleased)
Songwriter: Bill Monroe
Publishing: Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC


0044, the only bluegrass album known by its record number, was one of the most important bluegrass albums of the last 50 years influencing a whole generation of young bluegrassers. The band consisting of J.D. Crowe on banjo, Tony Rice on guitar, Ricky Skaggs on fiddle and mandolin and Bobby Slone on bass with Jerry Douglas on Dobro. They made only this one studio album.

“Cryin' Holy” was the only lead vocal by Ricky Skaggs on 0044. On the LP and CD, the quartet consisted of Rice, Skaggs, Crowe and the band’s manager at the time Hugh Sturgill. Emmylou Harris was in the studio at the time and recorded a high baritone part, but her part wasn’t used when there seemed to be a pitch issue. Years later, when listening back to the tapes, JD and engineer Steve Chandler took Sturgill’s vocal off and replaced it with Emmylou’s and it sounded great. This is the new mix with Emmylou singing the high part. This version was never released to radio. Ken Irwin, Rounder Records

J.D. Crowe - banjo and baritone vocal
Tony Rice - guitar and lead vocal
Ricky Skaggs - mandolin, fiddle, viola and tenor vocals
Bobby Slone - bass
Jerry Douglas - dobro