Lightning Red
  • Thunder & Lightning
  • Lie No More
  • Can't Help Myself
  • Cavern Crawl
  • Bitta Man
  • Change Is Gonna Come
  • South Austin Shuffle LIVE
  • No Matter What
  • East St. Louis
  • Lost My Baby
  • Irene
  • Cotton Pickin'
  • Voluptuous
  • Tortured Mind
  • Shoulda Listened

2010 European Tour
If you like history then you have to meet Lightning Red! The man is history himself! He saw many of the big Jazz names when he was a kid, befriended Luther Allison, performed at the Armadillo World Headquarters, played with Omar and The Howlers, Charlie Sexton and WC Clark and watched how Little Stevie Ray struggled with his guitar!

Now with the release of Groovemaster, Lightning Red, almost a blues legend himself, is on the road again and ready to show the world that he is still a master at the guitar! Killer licks, ditto grooves and trademark vocals are the master ingredients for his recipe.

“Don’t Have to worry” is a fine example of his trademark vocals! The tune gives us his raw sound that is .. “Do The Revolution” is a great blues rocker that combines the burning hot guitar licks with the Texas blues style. “Lie No More” is all what the blues is about and on “Change is gonna come” (co-written with long time collaborator & vocalist LZ Love) we hear some nice slide guitar as well as LZ’s voice taking over the vocals in this duet! “The Shake” is wonderfully blending blues and soul in an instrumental groove that could fit on any seventies spy-fi movie! “No matter brings” back all the misery and trouble the blues has seen over the ages in this standard 12 bar blues tune. Closing down is a funky blues instrumental with a screaming guitar taking over the vocals! A very nice way to close an album that gave us 12 hot Texas blues tracks.

The passionate guitar playing combined with some nice lyrics on “Groovemaster” makes from this offering by Texas guitar hero Lightning Red a much appreciated album. The low-down funky shuffles with rockin’ boogies and elements of funk-driven blues creates an experience that you simply can’t Keep quiet.

- Mr Blue Boogie, ROOTSVILLE - Belgium

Read More

  • Members:
    LIGHTNING RED vocals, acoustic, electric and slide guitars --- LZ LOVE & LIGHTNING RED (highly acclaimed acoustic duo) featuring LZ Love on vocals and percussion --- LIGHTNING RED & Thunder Blues (electric bluesrockin' band)
  • Sounds Like:
    Buddy Guy meets The Fabulous Thunderbirds meets Elvis meets Howlin Wolf meets Robert Johnson
  • Influences:
    Buddy Guy, Luther Allison, Albert King, Muddy Waters, SRV, Howlin' Wolf, B.B.King, Albert Collins, Johnny Winter, Son House, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Elvis Presley, Magic Sam, Dwayne Allman,
  • AirPlay Direct Member Since:
  • Profile Last Updated:
    10/11/21 13:53:03

"Radio Creds" are votes awarded to artists by radio programmers who have downloaded their music and have been impressed with the artist's professionalism and the audience's response to the new music. Creds help artists advance through the AirPlay Direct community.

Only radio accounts may add a Radio Cred. One week after the track has been downloaded the radio account member will receive an email requesting a Cred for each artist they've downloaded.